Restoration of the classic Casa Vallejo charms old patrons and enchants first-time guests
Built in 1909, one of the most distinctive historical and aesthetic landmarks of Baguio City is the Casa Vallejo. First known as Dormitory 4, it housed American employees from the Bureau of Public Works who helped build the city. Then in 1927, a Spanish immigrant married to a Filipina leased the property, renovating it into Baguio’s first hotel.
It welcomed many families as the city began to be known as the country’s summer capital. During the second world war, it survived Japanese bombings and is now the only colonial structure standing in the former government center. At one point, the Department of Environment and Natural Resources took custody of the property, which would fall into disrepair.
Fast-forward to 2010. Retaining the hotel’s original name, the new owner, Roebling Hotels, Inc., unveiled the much-anticipated and warmly welcomed renovations. With its pine wood restored and the roof and awning preserved, and with modern amenities such as en suite bathrooms and a new drainage system, Casa Vallejo opened its doors, and with a restaurant that would gain renown in a matter of a few years, Hill Station.